ここからメインコンテンツです。

Kodaira Research Library and Archives

About Kodaira Research Library and Archives

Kodaira Research Library and Archives is a library specializing in the research and preservation of library materials, and is located at the Kodaira International Campus. Materials held by this library are provided, basically, through delivery service upon requests in advance, to use at the Main Library (Kunitachi Campus) or at the ICS Library (Chiyoda Campus). We operate as follows for the time being.

Using materials in Kodaira Research Library and Archives

  • We provide materials that are not available in e-journals or databases.
  • In case you would like to use large amount of materials at once or it is difficult to specify the volume/number of the material you need, you may visit the Kodaira Research Library and Archives (application in advance required).
  • It should be noted that, exterenal users can request only when (1) the material is not available in e-journals or databases and (2) Hitotsubashi University Library is the only university library in Japan to hold it.

1. Delivery service

  • Materials unavailable in e-journals or databases are delivered upon requests to the Main Library (Kunitachi Campus) or to the ICS Library (Chiyoda Campus).
  • Basically, materials are delivered twice a week (except End-of-year and New Year periods). It takes around 3 to 6 days to deliver the requested materials. It may take more days if some delay shall occur on conditions of the postal service. Please understand beforehand.
  • You can use the delivered materials borrowing or photocopying in the same way as the usual library materials.
How to make a request

<University members>
Students and faculty of Hitotsubashi can make requests using HERMES (Online library catalog). Please search the material you need by HERMES, display the detailed screen, and make your request by clicking the “Reserve” button. (The material will be kept at the counter for one week after arrival.)
However, as for "in-library use only" material, the "Reserve" button is not displayed. Please apply at the counter of the Main Library or the ICS Library by filling out the reservation application form.

Delivery application hours (weekdays only) Semester period Vacation period
Main Library (Kunitachi Campus) 8:40-17:00 8:40-17:00
ICS Library (Chiyoda Campus)
(University members only)
13:00-16:00
17:00-20:00
11:30-14:30
15:30-18:30

* It takes around 3 to 6 days to deliver the requested materials, also for applications at the counter.

<External users>
Visitors (including the special A or B user ID holders) are expected to refer to the “Delivery application (for visitors)” of the library website. Please apply at the counter of the Main Library (Kunitachi Campus) or via e-mail.

2. Direct visits (By prior appointment)

In case you would like to use large amount of materials at once or it is difficult to specify the volume/number of the material you need, you may visit the Kodaira Research Library and Archives.

Who can visit
Users who can visit the Kodaira Research Library and Archives are limited to those who are qualified to enter the stack rooms in the Main Library by the Rule on Use of the Hitotsubashi University Library. When you visit, please be sure to show your ID card or the library user card.

Who can visit Card required
Faculty or staff of the Hitotsubashi University Staff ID card
Graduate Students,
Research students,
Undergraduate students of 5 years consistently education
Student ID card
Researchers, Emeritus professors,
Former full-time faculty,
Graduate school alumni within 5 years of leaving,
Those with special permission from the Library Director
Library user card


Library hours

Hours for visiting the Kodaira Research Library and Archives
Twice a week: Tuesday and Thursday (excluding national holidays, university holidays, etc.) 13:30-17:00
(Entry before 16:30)


How to make an appointment
From constraints on the facility management, users cannot enter the Kodaira Research Library and Archives without a prior appointment. Please refer to the “Kodaira Research Library and Archives visiting appointment (for University members)” of the library website and apply at the counter of the Main Library (application hours: weekdays 8:40-17:00) or via e-mail.

Loan
If necessary, you may borrow the materials at Kodaira. Loan period is the same as the collections of the University Library. The number of books on loan is combined with those of the University Library. The ID card or the library user card is required for this lending service. Returning materials, basically, is not accepted at the Kodaira Research Library and Archives. Please return them at the Main Library (Kunitachi Campus) or at the ICS Library (Chiyoda Campus).

Photocopy
There is no self service photocopy machine available at the Kodaira Research Library and Archives.
If necessary, you may apply photocopy on site at Kodaira. However, since photocopying fee can be paid only at the Main Library or the ICS Library, you cannot receive the copy at Kodaira. The photocopy will be sent to the Main Library (Kunitachi Campus) or to the ICS Library (Faculty or staff or graduate students of the Chiyoda Campus users only) for you to pick it up.
Photocopy fee is as follows.
Black and white: 20 yen/sheet
Color: 60 yen/sheet
Choose a method of payment from the following:

  • Pay by cash: Pay the fee by cash against the copy received at the Help Desk (please tender exact change).
  • Pay by the university’s budget: The fee is paid from research expenses.
  • Pay by research funds from outside the university (e.g., Scientific Research Fund “KAKENHI”): Fill out the back side of the “Application Form for Photocopying,” providing information about the fund.

<For guests (users who are not students or faculty of Hitotsubashi)>

Black and white: 40 yen/sheet
Color: 80 yen/sheet

Pay the fee by cash against the copy received at the Help Desk (please tender exact change).

Using e-journals and databases

<For University members>

You may have access to titles you wish to use in e-journals or databases∗ via HERMES.Search for the title you wish to use in HERMES. On the search results page, click the “HERMES-LINK” button or “Links to the title.”While doing this, please ensure that you are either using desktop computers in the university, you are connected to the campus wireless network or you are logged into MyLibrary.
∗OECD publications are available on “OECD iLibrary”.

<For guests>

You can access some e-journals and databases via the computers in the Main Library. Contact the Main Library to check the availability of the title you wish to use.

Contact

Hitotsubashi University Library
Circulation Section
Tel: 042-580-8235
E-mail: service [at] lib.hit-u.ac.jp ([at] => @)

ここからフッターです。